



BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS TELECONFERENCE PUBLIC SESSION MINUTES

January 31, 2018

Teleconference Meeting Locations:

CA 92075

Sergio Azzolino, DC
1545 Broadway St. Suite 1A
San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 563-3800

Heather Dehn, DC 4616 El Camino Ave. Suite B Sacramento, CA 95821 (916) 488-0202

John Roza, Jr., DC 800 Douglas Blvd. Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 786-2267

Dionne McClain, D.C.	Corey Lichtman, DC
6360 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 410	538 Stevens Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90048	Solana Beach, CA 92
(323) 653-1014	(858) 481-1889

Frank Ruffino Board of Chiropractic Examiners 901 P Street, Suite 142A Sacramento, CA 95814 (916) 263-5355

Board Members Present

Heather Dehn, D.C., Chair Frank Ruffino, Vice Chair Sergio Azzolino D.C., Secretary Dionne McClain, D.C. John Roza, Jr., D.C. Corey Lichtman, D.C.

Staff Present

Robert Puleo, Executive Officer Marcus McCarther, Assistant Executive Officer Kenneth Swenson, Attorney III Dixie Van Allen, Staff Services Manager I Beckie Rust, Staff Services Manager I Valerie James, Management Services Technician

Call to Order

Dr. Dehn called the meeting to order at 12:05 p.m.

Roll Call

Dr. Azzolino called the roll. All members were present at the locations listed on the agenda. A quorum was established.

T (916) 263-5355 **F** (916) 327-0039 TT/TDD (800) 735-2929 Consumer Complaint Hotline (866) 543-1311

Board of Chiropractic Examiners 901 P Street, Suite 142A Sacramento, California 95814 www.chiro.ca.gov

Approval of Minutes

October 24, 2017

MOTION: MR. RUFFINO MOVED TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THE OCTOBER 24, 2017 MEETING. SECOND: DR. AZZOLINO SECONDED THE MOTION

Discussion: Dr. McClain referred to the sixth paragraph on page 2 of the meeting minutes. She noted that part of the second sentence, "presentation on the California Law and Professional Practice Exam", is incorrect. Mr. Puleo acknowledged that it is incorrect and suggested substituting the referenced part of the sentence with "Dr. McClain and Mr. Puleo provided an update on Board activities".

Dr. Dehn referred to the fourth and fifth paragraph on page 2 and stated her name was misspelled. The Board directed the staff to make the appropriate corrections.

VOTE: 6-0 (DR. DEHN-AYE, MR. RUFFINO-AYE, DR. AZZOLINO-AYE, DR. MCCLAIN-AYE, DR. ROZA- AYE, DR. LICHTMAN-AYE) MOTION: CARRIED

Election of Officers for 2018

Mr. Swenson provided a brief overview of the new process to elect Board officers (slate nominations).

Mr. Puleo required further clarification regarding the new election process addressed by Mr. Swenson.

Mr. Swenson explained that a typical election process is comprised of a nomination with an implied motion to elect a nominee to a particular office; however, the new election process consists of a slate of nominees who verbally indicate their interest for a particular office. He explained further that when the Executive Officer calls the roll, the slate to be voted on should be identified and included in a motion that is seconded.

Mr. Puleo explained that this new election process will begin with the Chair position. Mr. Puleo requested that any Board member interested in said position identify his/her interest verbally during a roll call of members. He added that Board members can abstain and nominate another Board member by identifying their choice for said position. Mr. Puleo also explained that if a Board member obtains a majority of votes, he/she will thereby be elected to that particular office. However, if no Board member is elected, the Board will commence another round of voting until a majority of votes is obtained.

A. Chair

Nominations

- Mr. Puleo called the roll.
- Dr. Dehn nominated herself for Chair.
- Mr. Ruffino did not nominate himself or another Board member.
- Dr. Azzolino did not nominate himself or another Board member.
- Dr. McClain nominated Dr. Azzolino for Chair.

- Dr. Roza did not nominate himself or another Board member.
- Dr. Lichtman did not nominate himself or another Board member.
- Mr. Puleo announced that the slate of nominees consists of Dr. Dehn and Dr. Azzolino.
- Dr. Azzolino inquired if he is required to accept the nomination.
- Mr. Swenson stated that Dr. Azzolino may decline the nomination.
- Dr. Azzolino thanked Dr. McClain but declined the nomination.
- Mr. Puleo announced that the slate is Dr. Dehn.

MOTION: MR. RUFFINO MOVED TO RE-ELECT DR. DEHN AS CHAIR SECOND: DR. LICHTMAN SECONDED THE MOTION

VOTE: DR. DEHN-6

- DR. DEHN VOTED FOR HERSELF
- MR. RUFFINO VOTED FOR DR. DEHN
- DR. AZZOLINO VOTED FOR DR. DEHN
- DR. MCCLAIN VOTED FOR DR. DEHN
- DR. ROZA VOTED FOR DR. DEHN
- DR. LICHTMAN VOTED FOR DR. DEHN

DR. DEHN WAS RE-ELECTED AS CHAIR

B. Vice-Chair

Nominations

- Mr. Puleo called the roll.
- Dr. Dehn did not nominate herself or another Board member.
- Mr. Ruffino stated he would pass.
- Dr. Azzolino stated he would pass but expressed his willingness to serve in any capacity.
- Dr. McClain stated she would pass.
- Dr. Roza inquired if Mr. Ruffino declined the nomination.

Mr. Ruffino clarified that he did not accept the nomination; however, he is willing to serve if it is the will of the Board.

- Dr. Roza nominated Mr. Ruffino to remain Vice-Chair.
- Mr. Ruffino accepted the nomination.
- Dr. Lichtman nominated himself for Vice-Chair.

Mr. Puleo announced that the slate of nominees consists of Mr. Ruffino and Dr. Lichtman.

MOTION: DR. AZZOLINO MOVED TO NOMINATE THE SLATE SECOND: DR. DEHN SECONDED THE MOTION

VOTE: DR. LICHTMAN-3, MR. RUFFINO-1, ABSTAIN-2

- DR. DEHN VOTED FOR DR. LICHTMAN
- MR. RUFFINO ABSTAINED
- DR. AZZOLINO VOTED FOR MR. RUFFINO
- DR. MCCLAIN VOTED FOR DR. LICHTMAN
- DR. ROZA VOTED FOR DR. LICHTMAN
- DR. LICHTMAN ABSTAINED

DR. LICHTMAN WAS ELECTED AS VICE-CHAIR

C. Secretary

Nominations

- Mr. Puleo called the roll.
- Dr. Dehn nominated Mr. Ruffino for Secretary.
- Mr. Ruffino accepted the nomination.
- Dr. Azzolino stated he would pass.
- Dr. McClain stated she would pass.
- Dr. Roza nominated himself for Secretray.
- Dr. Lichtman did not nominate himself or another Board member.
- Mr. Ruffino nominated Dr. Azzolino to remain the Secretary.
- Dr. Azzolino accepted the nomination.

Mr. Puleo announced that the slate of nominees consists of Mr. Ruffino, Dr. Roza and Dr. Azzolino.

MOTION: DR. MCCLAIN MOVED TO NOMINATE THE SLATE

Dr. Dehn requested clarification regarding whether Mr. Ruffino intended to accept the nomination as well as nominate Dr. Azzolino.

Mr. Ruffino stated that he would like to decline his nomination.

DR. MCCLAIN WITHDREW THE ORIGINAL MOTION TO NOMINATE THE SLATE

Mr. Puleo announced that the new slate of nominees consists of Dr. Roza and Dr. Azzolino.

MOTION: DR. MCCLAIN MOVED TO NOMINATE THE NEW SLATE SECOND: DR. ROZA SECONDED THE MOTION

VOTE: DR. AZZOLINO-5, DR. ROZA-0, ABSTAIN-1

- DR. DEHN VOTED FOR DR. AZZOLINO
- MR. RUFFINO VOTED FOR DR. AZZOLINO
- DR. AZZOLINO VOTED ABSTAINED
- DR. MCCLAIN VOTED FOR DR. AZZOLINO
- DR. ROZA VOTED FOR DR. AZZOLINO
- DR. LICHTMAN FOR DR. AZZOLINO

DR. AZZOLINO WAS RE-ELECTED AS SECRETARY

Public Comment for Items Not on the Agenda

Ms. Dawn Benton, Executive Director of the California Chiropractic Association (CCA), invited the Board Chair to attend their Lobby Day on April 10th.

Mr. Ruffino commented that he participated at last years Lobby Day and encouraged Board members' participation.

Future Agenda Items

Mr. Ruffino requested that the Board's Committees be reassigned if necessary.

Mr. Puleo responded that he will work with the Chair on Committee assignments and any changes will be announced to the Board.

Adjournment

Dr. Dehn adjourned the meeting at 12:31p.m.