Check Sheet for the "Application for a License to Practice Chiropractic"

This **Check Sheet** is intended only to assist you with submitting a completed application. All applicable items must be submitted in order to assess your qualifications for licensure. Other documentation may be requested at any time. For forms and further information you may visit our website at: www.chiro.ca.gov. Standard processing time is three to five months.

Falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response on your application or any attachment hereto is sufficient basis for denial or revocation of a license

APPLICATION

➤ APPLICATION FOR A CHIROPRACTIC LICENSE: A 2" x 2" photograph is required on the Application for a License to practice chiropractic. The photo must be of the head & shoulders and taken within 60 days of application.

FEES – Attach check or money order made payable to: "BOCE". All fees are nonrefundable.

- ➤ Application Fee \$100.00
- Fingerprint Processing Fee for Out-of-State Applicants ONLY \$49.00
- **TRANSCRIPTS -** Must be received directly from the issuing authority.
 - National Board of Chiropractic Examiners Parts I, II, III, IV, and Physiotherapy Official transcript
 - Official college transcripts from all chiropractic colleges attended

DOCUMENTATION

- Photocopy of CHIROPRACTIC DIPLOMA. This can be submitted from applicant.
- > VERIFICATION OF PRECHIROPRACTIC HOURS. Please contact your chiropractic college. The college will complete this form. Must be received directly from the chiropractic college.
- > CHIROPRACTIC COLLEGE CERTIFICATE. Please contact your chiropractic college. The college will complete this form. Must be received directly from the chiropractic college.
- Official CERTIFICATION OF LICENSURE is required for <u>EACH</u> license obtained in any U.S. state, U.S. or Canadian territory; Canadian province, or U.S. federal jurisdiction, regardless of whether you practiced under that license. Each certificate should be mailed by the issuing authority directly to the CA Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
- Officially certified English translation of ALL documents which are not prepared in the English language. (Translations will not be returned.)

CONVICTIONS – Note that convictions adjudicated in juvenile courts or convictions two years or older under Health and Safety Code sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e) or section 11360(b) need not be reported. Convictions expunged or set aside pursuant to section 1203.4 of the California Penal Code or equivalent non-California law MUST be disclosed. If in doubt as to whether a conviction should be disclosed, it is best to disclose the conviction. The Board receives information regarding convictions that have been expunged. For reportable **citations/arrests** on your record including those set aside, dismissed or expunged, you are required to submit the following documentation for each incident:

- A signed <u>detailed</u> explanation. Specify what occurred on the date(s) in question, which resulted in the citation. If the explanation is not detailed or signed, you will be asked to resubmit.
- A copy of the arrest report. If the report no longer exists or is not available, you must obtain a letter from the reporting agency, on their letterhead, specifying that fact.
- CERTIFIED court documents. <u>Copies will not be accepted.</u> If the report no longer exists or is not available, you must obtain a letter from the court, on their letterhead, specifying that fact.
- Documents from a court or law enforcement agency verifying proof of completion of terms of parole, probation, restitution.

□ CALIFORNIA APPLICANTS - FINGERPRINTS

You must submit your fingerprints electronically. This is called Live Scan. Refer to "Live Scan Service Instructions and Form" on our website. After you've had your fingerprints completed, please submit a copy of your completed Live Scan form to our office.

□ OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS - FINGERPRINTS

You must either come to California and complete the Live Scan or submit rolled fingerprints on cards provided by the CA Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Fingerprints must be taken by a person professionally trained in the rolling of prints. The Department of Justice requires you to use California fingerprint cards; please contact the Board and cards will be mailed to you. Any other fingerprint cards will not be accepted. The processing fee is \$49.00; make your check payable to "BOCE". *Please note:* On January 14, 2011, the Board adopted regulations requiring electronic fingerprinting. We will accept hard cards for initial licensure, however prior to the first renewal of your license; you must have your fingerprints submitted electronically in California.





APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO PRACTICE CHIROPRACTIC

FEES

Application Fee: \$100.00 Fingerprint Card Fee: \$49.00* (Live Scan applicants pay fingerprint fee at time of service)

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE AND SHOULD BE MADE PAYABLE TO "BOCE"

* Fee for Out of State Applicants Only – Contact the BOCE for Required Fingerprint Cards See instructions for completing and filing this application. Please read carefully and answer each question fully. Falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response on this application or any attachment hereto is grounds for denying a license. Please type or print legibly. If additional space is needed to answer any questions on this application, please attach the information on additional sheets of paper and submit with this application.

PERSONAL INFORMATION		
NAME: Last	First	Middle
Other names you have used (include maide	•	
OFFICIAL MAILING/PUBLIC ADDRESS OF F licensed)	RECORD (Street Address, PO Box #, etc.): (Will be	released to the public once you are
City	State Zip	Code
PRACTICE ADDRESS: Number and Street (if different from above)	
City	State Zip	o Code
Telephone Number (include area code) Home:	Driver's License Number / State	
Work:	Expiration Date:	PHOTOGRAPH
Date of Birth:	Social Security Number or Taxpayer Identification Number:	Affix a 2" x 2" passport style photo here
Gender:	e-mail (optional)	Photo must have been taken
☐ Female ☐ Male		within the last 60 days
* If you answer yes to either question A or E Documentation includes <u>but is not limited to</u> discharge papers <u>such as a DD Form 214 estatements</u> . For Question B, documentation	Altered photos are not acceptable	
marriage certificate or certified declaration/	registration of domestic partnership filed with legal union" not recognized by California, you	
may submit other documentary evidence of your legal union for consideration.	legal union issued by the State that recognizes	\// <i>\#9\$\9\$</i> #\\$\£\\$\$#\\$\\\$\///
A. Have you ever served in the United State military?	B. Are you a spouse, domestic partner or in a legal union with an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces stationed in California?	Cashiered Date:
☐ Yes* ☐ No	☐ Yes* ☐ No	Amount Rec'd:

EDUCAT	ONAL BAC	KGROUND					
Name of Hig	nh School		Location (City, State)		Date of G	Date of Graduation or GED earned	
List all un	dergraduate	schools attended:					
Dates From	Attended To		of college or university reviations or acronym		Location	Date and Degree Earned	
FIOIII	10	idds oii)	reviations of actoriyin	5)		Larrieu	
Chiroprac	tic college(s)	attended:					
Dates From	Attended To	Name o	of Chiropractic Colleg	е	Location	Date and Degree Earned	
PROFESS	SIONAL LIC	ENSE INFORMAT	TION			<u> </u>	
1. Have y	ou ever filed	an application for	chiropractic exami	nation or licer	nsure in Califo	rnia?	
If "Yes", plea	ase provide the	year and outcome of th	ne previous application.			☐ Yes ☐ No	
2. Have y	ou ever beer	licensed to practi	ce chiropractic in a	ıny U.S. state	e or federal teri	ritory, or another country? ☐ Yes ☐ No	
If "Yes", hav	e each chiropra Jurisdictio		ense verification to the C		opractic Examiner		
2. Do you hold or have you ever hold any other professional license in any LLS, state or federal territory or					or federal territory or		
3. Do you hold or have you ever held any other professional license in any U.S. state or federal territory or another country?							
						☐ Yes ☐ No	
Profession:		Iss	suing Agency:		License No.	i.	
For purposes of responding to the following question (3A), "discipline" is an administrative action that resulted in a restriction or penalty being placed on any professional license you have or have possessed, such as revocation, suspension, probation, consent order, or reprimand.							
3A. If you answered "Yes" to Question Nos. 2 or 3, has this license ever been revoked, suspended or otherwise subjected to discipline?							
If "Yes", pro	vide all official d	ocumentation regardin	g the matter in addition	to a written expl	anation.	☐ Yes ☐ No	
	·	<u> </u>		'			
						Applicant Initial Here	

DISCIPLINARY HISTORY	
If you answer "Yes" to questions 4 through 11, provide official certified hearing/court documents AND you explanation on a separate attachment. Failure to provide all required documents with this application will being deemed incomplete.	ill result in the application
For all questions below, "licensing agency" includes any disciplinary actions by any U.S. State, federal to U.S. Military, U.S. Public Health Service, or other agency of the U.S. Federal Government:	territory, other country, the
4. A. Have you ever been charged with, or been found to have committed unprofessional incompetence, gross negligence, or repeated negligent acts or malpractice by this or any or hospital?	-
B. If you answered "No" to the above question, is any such action pending?	Yes No
5. Have you ever withdrawn an application for licensure to practice chiropractic in lieu of de	Yes No
action by this or another licensing agency? For purposes of responding to this question, "disciplinary action" is an administrative action that resulted in a resulted on any professional license you have or have possessed, such as a revocation, suspension, probation, co	Yes No triction or penalty being
6. A. Have you ever been denied permission to take an examination for a license to practic	
professional license by this or another licensing agency?	Yes 🗌 No
B. If you answered "No" to the above question, is any such action pending?] Yes □ No
7. A. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license to practice chiropractic or any other	professional license?] Yes ☐ No
B. If you answered "No" to the above question, is any such action pending?] Yes □ No
8A. Have you ever been denied a license to practice chiropractic or any other profession b licensing agency?	oy this or any other Yes ☐ No
B. If you answered "No" to the above question, is any such action pending?] Yes □ No
9. Has a claim or action for damages ever been filed against you in the course of the pract any other healing art which resulted in malpractice settlement, judgment, or arbitration awa	
If you answer "Yes" to questions 10 or 11 attach a written DETAILED explanation, obtain a <u>sertified</u> copy include CERTIFIED copies of all court documents for each conviction. Include <u>documentation from a coagency verifying</u> proof of completion of any terms of parole, probation, restitution or any other sanctions.	urt or law enforcement
10. Have you ever been convicted or pled guilty or pled nolo contendere to ANY offense (i	•
misdemeanor or felony) of any local, state, or federal law of any state, territory, foreign coupurisdiction?	Yes No
This includes every citation, infraction, misdemeanor and/or felony, including traffic violations of \$500 or more. Newer adjudicated in the juvenile court, dismissed per Penal Code section 1000.3, or convictions two years or old and Safety Code sections 11357(b),(c),(d), (e) or section 11360(b) should NOT be reported. Convictions that we records of the court or set aside pursuant to sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of the California Penal Code of law MUST be disclosed.	der under California Health ere later expunged from the
Proof of Dismissal: If you have obtained a dismissal of your conviction(s) pursuant to Penal Code sections 1203 please submit a certified copy of the court order dismissing the conviction(s) with your application.	
11. Is any criminal action pending against you, or are you currently awaiting judgment and entry of a plea or jury verdict?	l sentencing following Yes
PRACTICE IMPAIRMENT OR LIMITATIONS	
12. Do you have a current physical or mental impairment related to drugs or alcohol	l? ─ <mark>─Yes</mark> - <mark>─Ne</mark>
13. Have you been adjudicated by a court to be mentally incompetent or are you currently conservatorship?	/ under a │Yes ☐ No
If "Yes", provide a detailed explanation of the circumstances, date and time of the court order or the duration	n of the conservatorship.

Applicant Initial Here

NOTICE: Falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response on this application or any attachment hereto is grounds for denying or revoking a license.

Application Declaration / Signature

I hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information provided is true, correct and complete to the best of my knowledge. to the truth and accuracy of the foregoing information contained on this application, including any attachments. I also certify that I personally read and completed this application and have read the instructions.

Signature of Applicant:				
J 11	(Please Sign	n Full Name, not initia	ls)	
Signed on this	day of			
•	•	MONTH	YEAR	

Mail your application, attachments and fees to:

State of California
Board of Chiropractic Examiners
901 P Street, Suite 142A
Sacramento, California 95814
(916) 263-5355

NOTICE REGARDING INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS

The information requested in the application and instructions is mandatory and is authorized to be collected in accordance with Sections 4 and 5 of the Chiropractic Initiative Act of California ('Act'), Business and Professions Code sections 115.5, 141, and 802(a) and Government Code section 11019.11 and Sections 303, 304, 317, 321.1, 322, 325, 326, 331.12.1 and 331.12.2 of Title 16, California Code of Regulations. The information requested will be used to determine qualifications for licensure and compliance with the requirements of the Act. Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Disclosure of your social security number or Taxpayer Identification Number is mandatory and collection is authorized by §30 of the Business and Professions Code and Pub. L 94-455 (42 U.S.C.A. §405(c)(2)(C)). Your Social Security number or Taxpayer Identification Number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination board, and where licensing is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your Social Security number or Taxpayer Identification Number, you may be reported to the Franchise Tax Board and be assessed a penalty of \$100. Disclosure of your tax identification number is mandatory. You may provide either your Social Security Number, Federal Employer Identification Number, or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, as applicable. This number must match the number you provide on your fingerprint forms. Section 30 of the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-45 5 (42 USCA 405 (c)(2)(c) authorizes collection of your tax identification number, which will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with section 17520 of the Family Code, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your tax identification number, your application for initial or renewal license will not be processed AND you will be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a \$100 penalty against you. Per California Civil Code Section 1798.17 (Information Practices Act), the Executive Officer of the Board is responsible for maintaining information in this application. Each individual has the right to review the personal information maintained by the agency unless the records are exempt from disclosure under Civil Code 1798.40. Requests for information may be addressed to the custodian of records at the following: Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 901 P Street, Suite 142A, Sacramento, CA 95814, (916) 263-5355.

Your name and official mailing address listed on this application will be disclosed to the public upon request if and when you become licensed as required by Business and Professions Code section 27.

NOTICE: Effective July 1, 2012, the State Board of Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the board. You are obligated to pay your state tax obligation and your license may be suspended if the state tax obligation is not paid.

Per sections 115.4 and 115.5 of the Business and Professions Code, the licensure process will be expedited for spouses of active duty military who are stationed in California and who hold a current license in another state, district or territory of the United States.





VERIFICATION OF PRECHIROPRACTIC HOURS

Date of Birth: Matriculation Date: Pursuant to the Chiropractic Initiative Act serprechiropractic college credits prior to matric be in accordance with the standards adopted name(s) of colleges where the units were co	Total Semester Credits: ction 5, each applicant for licensure culation into the Doctor of Chiroprac d by the Council on Chiropractic Edu mpleted.	ctic program. These credits multiple in the second second
Pursuant to the Chiropractic Initiative Act serprechiropractic college credits prior to matric be in accordance with the standards adopted name(s) of colleges where the units were collist NAME(S) OF COLLEGES AND/OR UNIVERSITAL. 3.	Total Semester Credits: ction 5, each applicant for licensure culation into the Doctor of Chiropract by the Council on Chiropractic Edumpleted. TIES ATTENDED (if additional space is not 2.	must have satisfactorily competic program. These credits mucation. Below provide the
Pursuant to the Chiropractic Initiative Act serprechiropractic college credits prior to matric be in accordance with the standards adopted name(s) of colleges where the units were contact NAME(S) OF COLLEGES AND/OR UNIVERSITAL. 3.	ction 5, each applicant for licensure culation into the Doctor of Chiropracd by the Council on Chiropractic Edumpleted. TIES ATTENDED (if additional space is n	must have satisfactorily comp tic program. These credits m acation. Below provide the
prechiropractic college credits prior to matric be in accordance with the standards adopted name(s) of colleges where the units were co LIST NAME(S) OF COLLEGES AND/OR UNIVERSITAL 1. 3.	culation into the Doctor of Chiropract by the Council on Chiropractic Edumpleted. FIES ATTENDED (if additional space is not 2.	ctic program. These credits multiple in the second second
3.	2.	needed attach a separate sheet)
3.		
	4.	
5.		
	6.	
I certify that the above named individual, dic required prior to matriculation into the Docto under the laws of the State of Californ best of my knowledge. Only the President, Dean or Registrar or a may sign this form.	or of Chiropractic program. I declare that the information provided is to	e under penalty of perjury true, correct and complete to
PRINT NAME	TITLE	DATE
SIGNATURE	CHIROPRACTIC COLLEGE	PHONE :
	CITY, STATE	

(Place imprint of the Chiropractic School Seal anywhere within this area)





CHIROPRACTIC COLLEGE CERTIFICATE

NAME OF APPLICANT:				
	Last	First	Middle	

Subject	Minimum Hours Required	Hours Completed by Applicant
Anatomy, including embryology, histology, and human dissection	616	
Physiology (must include laboratory work)	264	
Biochemistry, clinical nutrition, and dietetics	264	
Pathology, bacteriology, and toxicology	440	
Public health, hygiene and sanitation, and emergency care	132	
Diagnosis	792 including: 1) E.E.N.T. 2) Serology 3) Dermatology 4) Syphilology 5) Geriatrics 6) X-ray interpretation 7) Neurology	
Obstetrics, gynecology and pediatrics	132	
Principles and practice of chiropractic	518 including: 1) Chiro.technique 2) Chiro.philosophy 3) Orthopedics 4) X-ray technique & radiation protection 5) 430 clinic hours including office procedures	
Physiotherapy	120	
Psychiatry	32	
Total Hours (include required subjects and electives)	4,400	

TT/TDD (800) 735-2929 Consumer Complaint Hotline (866) 543-1311

T (916) 263-5355 | Board of Chiropractic Examiners F (916) 327-0039 901 P Street, Suite 142A Sacramento, California 95814 www.chiro.ca.gov

Clinical Experience	Minimum Hours Required	Hours Completed by Applicant
1) Physical Examinations	25 (10 NOT student patients)	
2) Urinalysis	25	
3) CBC's	20	
4) Blood chemistries	10	
5) X-ray examinations	30	
6) Proctological examinations	10	
7) Gynecological examinations	10	
8) Patient treatments including diagnostic, adjustive technique, and patient evaluation	250	
9) Written interpretation of X-ray (film or slide)	30	
10) Practical clinical experience hours	518	
11) Physiotherapy procedures performed by the student on their own clinic patients	30	

Affidavit Certification

,	nd control of the records of students' attendance of the ege and said records disclose that the aforementioned student
entered this institution on the da	ay of,, and graduated on the day of school terms of
months resident student enrollment. This These hours include resident and transfer	s student completed the hours documented on the table above. r credit granted toward the degree of Doctor of Chiropractic. I that the information provided is true, correct and complete to
PRINT NAME	TITLE
CHIROPRACTIC COLLEGE	CITY, STATE
 SIGNATURE	DATE

(AFFIX COLLEGE SEAL)