TITLE 16, BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS Proposed Amendments to CCR §321 and §364

Modified text during the 45-day comment period: Additions are shown in single underline. Deletions are shown in single strikeout.

Modified text during the 1st 15-day comment period: Proposed additions are shown in bold, **double underline**. Proposed deletions are shown in double strikethrough.

§ 321. Application for License.

An Application for a License to Practice Chiropractic shall be submitted on an application form (No. 09A-1 (Rev. 9/92 06/14 05/16)) prescribed and provided by the board, and titled Application for License to Practice Chiropractic, accompanied by such evidence, statements, or documents as are therein required, and filed with the board at its office in Sacramento, with the required nonrefundable application fee of one hundred dollars (\$100.00). The application shall also include verifications showing satisfactory completion of 60 prechiropractic college credits and the minimum educational requirements for licensure from the chiropractic college attended by the applicant on forms entitled "Verification of Prechiropractic Hours," No. 09B-3 (New 07/14) and entitled "Chiropractic College Certificate," No. 09B-2 (New 07/14).

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1000-4(b)₁ and 1000-4(c), and 1000-5, Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii), Sections 27, 30, 114.5, 115.4, 115.5, 480, 802(a) and Section 11019.11 of the Government Code. Reference: Section 1000-5, Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii), Sections 27, 30, 114.5, 115.4, 115.5, 480, 802(a) and Section 11019.11 of the Government Code.

§364. Exemptions and Reduction of Requirement.

A licensee may qualify for a full or partial exemption, from the continuing education requirements of Section 361 if a licensee meets any of the criterion listed below:

- (a) A licensee who holds a license on inactive status is not required to complete continuing education on an annual basis; however, they must provide proof of completion of the required continuing education hours prior to activating their license as specified in Section 371(f);
- (b) A new licensee is exempt from continuing education requirements in the year of initial licensure;
- (c) An instructor who has taught for one (1) year and currently teaches core curriculum courses for more than eight (8) credit hours per week at any Council on Chiropractic

Education accredited college for at least six (6) months during any license renewal period year shall be exempt from continuing education.

- (d) A licensee who teaches a board-approved continuing education course may earn one (1) hour of continuing education credit for each hour of lecture up to 24 hours per year.
- (e) Notwithstanding Section 361(c), a licensee who is unable to attend continuing education courses due to a physical disability and provides written certification from a primary health care provider may earn all 24 hours of continuing education credits for the period of the license renewal through Board-approved distance learning courses as defined in Section 363.1.
- (f) A licensee who participates as an examiner for the entire part four portion of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) examinations shall receive a maximum of six (6) hours of continuing education credit for each examination period conducted by the NBCE during the license renewal period. The licensee must provide written certification from the NBCE confirming the licensee has met the requirements of this subsection.
- (g) A licensee who participates in the entire two-day workshop as a Subject Matter Expert for the purpose of exam development of the California Law and Professional Practice Examination shall receive a maximum of sixteen (16) hours of continuing education credit which includes eight (8) hours in the Ethics and Law and eight (8) hours in the Principles of Practice subject areas as defined in sections 361(g)(11) and 361(g)(16)(A) respectively.
- (gh) An active Board Member. A professional board member who has served one full year on the Board of Chiropractic Examiners shall be exempt from the continuing education requirement in each year of board member service.
- (hi) Notwithstanding Section 361(c), a A licensee on active duty with a branch of the armed forces of the United States or the California National Guard who meets the exemption requirements specified in Business and Professions Code section 114.3 shall be exempt from continuing education requirements. permitted to take all twenty-four (24) hours of required continuing education through board-approved distance learning courses as defined in Section 363.1.

Authority cited: Sections 114.3 and 135.5 of the Business and Professions Code and Section 1000-4(b), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii). Reference: Sections 114.3 and 135.5 of the Business and Professions Code and Sections 1000-4(b), 1000-4(e) and 1000-10, Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii).