
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
  

 
 

 
 

 
  

    
 
 
  
 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

  
 

 
 

 

 

 

  
 

 
 

A Check Sheet for a California Chiropractic License 

This Check Sheet is intended only to assist you with submitting a completed application.  All applicable items must be 
submitted in order to assess your qualifications for licensure.  Other documentation may be requested at any time. For 
forms and further information you may visit our website at:  www.chiro.ca.gov. Standard processing time is three to five 
months. 

Falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response on your application 
or any attachment hereto is sufficient basis for denial or revocation of a 
license 

FORMS 

� APPLICATION FOR A CHIROPRACTIC LICENSE 
A 2” x 2” photograph is required on the Application for a Chiropractic License.  A photo is an image 
obtained by photography and must show your head and shoulder areas only.  It must be taken within 60 
days of application. 

FEES – Payable by check or money order to: CA Board of Chiropractic Examiners  
All fees are nonrefundable 

� Application Fee $100.00 
� Reciprocal Application Fee $25.00 
� Fingerprint Processing Fee for Out-of-State Applicants ONLY - $51.00 (in addition to the application fee) 
� Fingerprint Processing Fee for California residents are paid directly to the Live Scan agency 

TRANSCRIPTS/VERIFICATIONS- Must be received directly from the issuing authority 
� National Board of Chiropractic Examiners - Parts I, II, III, IV, and Physiotherapy – Official transcript 
� Official college transcripts from all chiropractic colleges attended 
� VERIFICATION OF PRECHIROPRACTIC HOURS.  Contact your chiropractic college.  The college will 

complete this form. Must be received directly from the chiropractic college. 
� CHIROPRACTIC COLLEGE CERTIFICATE. Contact your chiropractic college, they will complete and 

mail the form directly to our office.  The California Chiropractic Initiative Act, Section 5 states you must 
have graduated from a Board approved chiropractic college.  

� Official CERTIFICATION OF LICENSURE is required for EACH license obtained in any U.S. state, U.S. 
or Canadian territory; Canadian province, or U.S. federal jurisdiction. Each certificate should be mailed by 
the issuing authority directly to the CA Board of Chiropractic Examiners. 

�  Officially certified English translation of ALL documents which are not prepared in the English 
language.  (Translations will not be returned.) 

DOCUMENTATION FROM APPLICANT 
� Photocopy of CHIROPRACTIC DIPLOMA.  This can be submitted from applicant. 
� For all citations/arrests on your record including those set aside, dismissed or expunged, you are 

required to submit the following documentation for each incident: 

o	 A signed detailed explanation. Specify what occurred on the date(s) in question, which 
resulted in the citation. If the explanation is not detailed or signed, you will be asked to 
resubmit. 

o	 A copy of the police/incident report. If the report no longer exists or is not available, you 
must obtain a letter from the reporting agency, on their letterhead, specifying that fact. 

o	 CERTIFIED court documents. Copies will not be accepted. If the report no longer exists or is 
not available, you must obtain a letter from the court, on their letterhead, specifying that fact. 

CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS - FINGERPRINTS 
You must submit your fingerprints electronically.  This is called LiveScan. Refer to “Instructions for 
Completing Request for Live Scan Service Instructions and Form” on our website.  After you’ve had your
fingerprints completed, submit a copy of your completed LiveScan form to our office.   

OUT-OF-STATE RESIDENTS - FINGERPRINTS 
You must submit rolled fingerprints on cards provided by the CA Board of Chiropractic Examiners.  
These must be taken by a person professionally trained in the rolling of prints.  The Department of 
Justice requires you to use California fingerprint cards, please contact the Board and cards will be 
mailed to you.  Any other fingerprint cards will not be accepted.  The processing fee is $51.00; please 
make your check or money order payable to: CA Board of Chiropractic Examiners.   

http://www.chiro.ca.gov/

