
 
                                                                                                                                      

                                                                                                                                                                                

                                         

                                         
                                  
               

                              
 

 
 

       
                 
 

 
           
                     

                

                   
   

 
     

                  

                   

                  
 

           

                  

                       

                   

                    
         

 
          
                        

       
 

           
                    

                     

              
 

             

                          

         

 
  

State of California 
Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor 

Freque ntl y Aske d Q uestio ns
 
Abo ut the P rocess o f O btai ni ng a Li ce nse
 

Q: Wh at are the re qu ireme nts for ob tai ni ng a Califor ni a ch irop ractic lice nse ? 

A: All re quire me nts c an be fo und in o ur Ch irop ract ic Initiat ive Ac t and in o ur Laws and Re gulat io ns on o ur we bsite at 

www. ch iro. ca.go v. Ho we ve r, b as ic re quire me nts are : y o u must grad uate fro m a B oard ap p ro ve d ch irop ractic c olle ge ; me e t all 

curre nt e ducat io n al un its; and have p asse d Parts I, II, III, IV and P hys io the rap y o f the N at ion al Bo ard o f Ch irop rac tic 
E xamine rs (NB CE ). 

Q: Wh at are the fee s? 

A: The stand ard lice nse ap p licat io n fe e is $ 100. 00. The re cip ro cal ap p lic at io n fe e is $2 5 .00. All Califo rn ia re side nts are 

re quire d to use Live Sc an fin ge rp rint se rvice s, the se fe e s are p aid d ire ctly to the age ncy s ub m ittin g the p rin ts. Out-of-S 

tate re side nts mus t s ub mit the ir p rin ts on Califo rn ia-iss ue d fin ge rp rin t cards; t he fe e to p roce ss the c ards is $49 . 00. 

Q: Wh at is the di fference b etwee n li ve sc an an d fi ng erp rin t c ar ds ? 

A: Live Sc an is a p roce ss that s cans yo ur finge rp rin ts e le c tro n ic ally and is mand ato r y fo r California re side nts . The
 
finge rp rint fe e s are p aid at t he Live Sc an s ite . You will ne e d to se nd the B oard’s cop y o f the Live Sc an fo rm.
	
Finge rp rint c ards are use d by o ut o f state re s ide nts on ly. Fin ge rp rint c ard s use d by Califor n ia re s ide nts will be re t urne d,
 
unle ss an e xe mp tion is gran te d fro m the De p artme n t of Jus tice . The ap p lic ant mus t se nd the c o mp le te d cards back to the
 
Board, alo n g with a p roce ssin g fe e of $5 1.00.
 

Q: Ho w lo ng does i t tak e to g e t a lice nse ? 
A: The ave rage p roce ssing time is 3 to 5 mon ths . P le ase note th at, be c ause of the p roce s sing time , it is n o t ne ce ssary for yo u t o 

o ve rnight o r sp e cial de live r yo ur ap p lic at io n. 

Q: Ho w do I fi n d o u t the s tatu s of m y ap p lic ation? 
A: The ave rage t ime for in itial re vie w of yo ur ap p lication is 2 we e ks . At th at time , e ithe r a le tte r re que stin g mo re 

in fo rmation, or the le tte r autho rizin g yo u to s it fo r the Law and P ro fe ssio nal P rac t ice E xam will be se nt . Yo u will re ce ive 

only o ne , so be s ure to ke e p it ava ilable d uring the lice ns ing p roce ss. 

Q: If I sen d ever yth ing in, c an I g et m y ap p lic ation p rocesse d sooner ? 

A: It is p ossible , b ut ke e p in mind, th at it may take an ave rage o f 3 to 5 mo n ths to p roce ss t he m. E ac h ap p lic ation is unique 

the re fo re ; s o me ap p lic ations may qualify s oo ne r than othe rs . 

T (916) 263-5355 Board of Chirop ract ic Examiners

F (916) 263-5369 2525 N ato mas P ark Drive, Suit e 260 
TT/TDD (800) 735-2929 Sacrame nto, C alifo rnia 95833 -2931 

Consu me r Co mplain t Ho tline www.chiro .ca .go v 

(866) 543-1311 



                 

                      

                  

                    

             
 

              

                        

                   
 

      

                  
                   

                      

               
 

              
                

                  

                     

                 

              
 

              

                      

          
 

        

                   

                        
 

                   
             

              
 

          
                         

                    

    

 
                    

    
                     

                    

  
  

Q: Af ter I sen d i n my ap p lic atio n, ho w will I kno w wh at e lse I nee d to do ? 

A: Afte r your ap p lic atio n h as be e n init ially re vie we d, a le tte r will be se nt ad vis in g yo u th at y o u have e ithe r qualifie d for the 

LPPE , o r th at y ou will ne e d to se nd add it ion al do cume ntat io n to c o mp le te the ap p licatio n. The le tte r re que stin g add ition al 

d ocume ntatio n is calle d a de fic ie nc y le tte r. Ple ase note , that a de ficie ncy le tte r is a re que st fo r do cume n tat io n and doe s no t 

me an t hat up o n re ce ip t o f the re que ste d d ocume nts, the ap p lic at io n is c omp le te . 

Q: Wh at do I h ave to do if I ch ang e my n ame or address ? 

A: A ch an ge o f add re ss mus t be done in writing. Be sure to in clude your s ign at ure and the e ffe ct ive date of the ad dre ss c han ge . 

If y o u have le gally c han ge d yo ur n ame , se nd the re que st alon g with a c op y o f the c o urt o rd e r. 

Q: Wh at is a p recep tors hip p rog r am? 

A: Pursuant to California Cod e o f Re gulat io ns § 312 , a p re ce p tors h ip p ro gram allo ws the st ude nt to p rac tice und e r the 100 
pe rce nt s up e rvision o f a lice nse d d octo r o f c h irop rac t ic. The p re ce p tor doc to r ap p lie s with o ne o f the Bo ard ap p ro ve d colle ge s 

and se rve s as an e xte ns ion o f the c olle ge fo r p urp ose s o f the clin ic al p o rtion o f the curr ic ulum d urin g the final te rm o f 

scho olin g. A s tude nt e n rolle d in a p re ce p to rsh ip p rogram is all o we d to obtain a fe e . 

Q: Can I use the p refi x Dr. an d/ or s uffi x D. C wi tho u t a lice nse? 
A: No. California Cod e o f Re gulat ions § 310.2 “ p roh ib its ind ivid uals from p rac tic in g c hirop ra c tic unle ss t he y h old an ac t ive 

ch irop rac t ic lice nse issue d b y the Bo ard . Additio nally, ind ividuals may not ad ve rt ise o r p ro mote , in any man ne r, t he wo rd s 

“ docto r” o r “ ch irop rac tor” , o r use the p re fix “ D r.” o r suffix “ D. C.” , or e ngage in the p rac t ice o f ch irop ract ic wit ho ut h aving a 

valid, un re voke d or uns urre nd e re d lice nse ” . Failure to c omp ly with th is re gulatio n is a vio lat ion o f the Ch irop ractic 

In itiative Ac t. Yo u co uld be d e nie d a lice nse fo r violation o f th is re gulation. 

Q: When c an I s it for the Cal iforn i a L aw an d Profe ssio n al Pr ac tice Ex am ( CL P PE) ? 

A: Whe n all t he re quire d doc ume ntation h as be e n re vie we d and ve rifie d, a le tte r will be se nt autho riz ing y ou to s it fo r the 

e xam. The CLPPE is give n on a c ontin uous b as is. 

Q: Where do I si t for the CLPPE ? 

A: In yo ur qualific ation le t te r, yo u will re ce ive the numbe r fo r Co mp ute r Ass is te d Te stin g Se rvice s (CATS). Tthe y will assis t 

yo u as y ou de cide whe re , whe n, and at wh at t ime yo u wish to s it fo r the te st. The te st is not availab le o n -line . 

Q: I h ave tak en the CL P PE twice an d f aile d. I h ave fi n anc i al h ar ds hip s an d not worki ng adds to my 
g rowing deb t. C an I tak e the tes t wi thou t the re quire d 3 0 day wai t? 
A: No. The re sp ons ibility o f p assing the CLPPE re sts sole ly with the ap p lic ant. 

Q: Ho w lo ng do I h ave to p ass the CLPPE? 
A: You will h ave o ne ye ar fro m t he d ate o f y our o rigin al auth o riz at ion le tte r t o p ass the e xam . If y o u d o n ot p ass with in t he 

one -ye ar, y our ap p lic ation will be se nt fo r de struct ion and y o u will ne e d to re s ubmit a ne w ap p lic at io n alon g wit h the 

assoc iate d fe e s and doc ume nts . 

Q: On my l icen si ng ap p lic atio n, do I h ave to ans wer yes to a cr imi n al his tor y ques tio n if m y c ase h as 
b een exp u ng ed or dis misse d? 
A: Ye s. California Pe nal Code § 1203.4(a) state s that an ap p lic an t is n ot re lie ve d fro m h is o r he r obligatio n to d is close a 

con viction in re sp onse to any d ire c t que st io n co ntaine d in any que stio nnaire o r ap p lic ation fo r lice nsure by any state o r loc al 

age ncy. 



                  
 

                     
                     

                       

      
 

                
                     

                    

              
 

               
        

   
 

                
                

   

  
 

            

                    
 

              

                      

  
 

         

            
 

                   

             
 

         

   

 
 
 
 
            
           

Q: If I h ave b een con vic te d of a fe lo n y or mis de me anor, wi ll t hi s p reve n t me fro m ob tain ing a 
licen se? 

A: Th is typ e of info rmatio n will be re vie we d o n an ind ividual bas is. We as k th at y ou s ubmit y our ap p licatio n, fe e and 
in fo rmation re gard in g the oc curre nce . The Board will re vie w yo ur file and make a de cis ion at th at time . Ple ase ke e p in mind 

th at we d o take in to co ns ide ration the typ e of c on vict ion, the age th at y ou we re whe n the incid e nt o cc urre d, and the time that 

has e lap se d since the c on vic tio n. 

Q: If I h ave a crim in al hi stor y, wil l I nee d to sen d an y thi ng to the B o ar d? 
A: If yo u h ave ans we re d “ Ye s” to que stio n 12 of the ap p licatio n, y ou will ne e d to s ubmi t a de taile d p e rson al s tate me nt 

d e scribin g t he e ve nts and c irc umstan ce s le ad ing up to yo ur arre s t o r c itat io n. In additio n to y our e x p lan ation, y ou will ne e d 

to sub mit cop ie s o f p olice re p orts and CE RTIFIE D c op ie s o f all c ourt re c ords. 

Q: For the p urp ose of ans wer ing ques tion 1 2 on the C alifor ni a ch irop r ac tic l icen se ap p lic ation, doe s 
reck less dri vi ng co ns ti tu te a mi nor tr affic v iol ati o n? 

A: No. 

Q: For the p urp ose of ans wer ing ques tion 1 2 on the C alifor ni a ch irop r ac tic l icen se ap p lic ation, do I 
h ave to di sclose an alco hol rel ate d co nv ic tio n if the ch arg e is l ater re duced to a no n-alco hol ic 
relate d vi ol atio n? 

A: Ye s. 

Q: Wh at am I allo we d to do while wai ti ng for m y l icen se ? 

A: Fo r in fo rmat ion re lating t o the sc op e of p rac t ice , re fe r to Califo rnia Cod e of Re gulations § 302 (P ractice o f Ch irop ract ic) 

Q: Does m y Chirop r ac tic Sc hool au to m atic al ly se n d my sc hool i nform atio n to the B oar d? 

A: No. You must re que st the re quire d d oc ume nts be se nt dire c tly to any Bo ard o f the s ta te whe re yo u wis h to p rac tice 

ch irop rac t ic. 

Q: Ho w lo ng is m y ap p l ic atio n k ep t on file ? 

A: One ye ar fro m t he d ate the Bo ard re ce ive d the ap p licatio n. 

Q: If I sen d m y appl ic atio n alo ng with a friend’ s, will the y b o th get processe d at the s ame time ? 

A: E ach ap p lic ation will be p roce sse d in the o rde r it was re ce ive d. 

Q: Are te mp or ary l icense s av ai l ab le whi le ap p l yi ng for lice nsure ? 

A: No 

( Re v. 03/ 11 ) 


