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Frequently Asked Questions
About the Reciprocity

Chiropractic Initiative Act of California

Section 9. Reciprocity Notwithstanding any provision contained in any other section of this act, the
Board, upon receipt of the fee specified in Section 5, shall issue alicense to any person licensed to practice
chiropractic under the laws of another state, provided said state then had the same general requirements as
required in this state at the time said license was issued, and provided that such other state in like manner
grants reciprocal registration to chiropractic practitioners of this state.

Q: Which states does California reciprocate with?
A: California will reciprocate with any state that is willing to reciprocate in return. It is the applicant’s
responsibility to contact the state they are reciprocating and askif they offer reciprocity with California.

Q. My state does notoffer Reciprocity; will you still issue a license through Reciprocity?
A: No, all applicants who apply through reciprocity must come from a state that is willing to Reciprocate
with California. If they donot, the applicant must have all current requirements.

Q: Do I have to send in my fees with the application?
A: Yes. If not, your application will be returned. If you use Live Scan fingerprint services, submit $25.00
along with the application. If you use the standard fingerprint cards, submit $76.00.

Q: What items do I need to obtainin order to have my application review for Reciprocity?

A: California Code of Regulations (CCR)

Section 323. Interpretation of Section 9 of the Act. The Board makes the following interpretation
of Section 9 of the Act which states candidates forlicensure are considered to have fulfilled the
requirement of reciprocity if they provide the documentation required by the Board showing the
following:

® Graduation from a Board approved chiropractic college, and completion of the minimum number of
hours and subjects as were required by California law at the time the applicant’s license was issued.

® Equivalent successful examination in each of the subjects examined in Californiain the same year as the
applicant was issued a license in the state from which he is applying.

® A valid and up-to-date license from the state from which they are reciprocating. Applicants may only
reciprocate from astate in which an examination was given.

® The state from which candidates are licensed will reciprocate with California. Itis the applicant’s
responsibility to inquire if the state they are coming from reciprocates with California. California will
reciprocate with any state who will reciprocate in return. California DOES NOT have a “grandfather
clause™.
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® A non-refundable application fee of $25.00. A fee, as set forth in Section 5 of the Act.
® Possess an ACTIVE license for at least 5 years.

The Board reserves the right to require any additional education or examination for reciprocity.

Once qualified, applicants must pass the California Law and Professional Practice Examination
(CLPPE).

Q: How do I find out the status of my application?
A: You may call or email the Board of Chiropractic Examiners.

Q: If I send everything in, can I get my application processed sooner?
A: Ttis possible, but keep in mind, applications are reviewed on a first come, first serve basis.

Q: How long will my application be kept on file?
A: One year from the date the Board received the application.

Q: After I send in my application, how will Iknow what else I need to do?

A: After your application has been initially reviewed, aletter will be sent advising you that you have either
qualified for the LPPE, or that you will need to send additional documentation to complete the application.
The letter requesting additional documentation is called a deficiency letter. Please note, that a deficiency
letteris a request for documentation and does not mean that upon receipt of the requested documents, the
application is complete.

Q: What do I have to do if I change my name or address?
A: To change your address, mail the change to the Board accompanied with your signature. If you have
legally changed your name, send the request along with a copy of the court order.

Q: What is the difference between live scan and fingerprint cards?

A: Tive Scan is aprocess that scans your fingerprints electronically and is available only in California. The
fingerprint fees are paid at the Live Scan site. You will need to send the Board’s copy of the Live Scan form.
Fingerprint cards areissued to the applicant from the Board and are processed at most law enforcement
agencies. The applicant must send the completed cards back to the Board, along with a processing fee of
$51.00.

Q: When can I sit for the Law and Professional Practice Exam (LPPE)?
A: When all the required documentation has been received, reviewed and verified and it is determined the
applicant is qualified, a letter will be sent authorizing you to take the exam.

Q: Where do I sit for the LPPE?

A: Aletter will be sent authorizing you to take the exam. On the letter will be an 800 number for you to call.
This is the Testing Center, and they will assist you as you decide where, when, and at what time you wish
to take the test. Applicants qualified to take the exam may only sit for the exam once in a24 hour period.
Applicants who fail after 3 times will have to wait one week before sitting for the exam again.

Applicants who fail after 5 times will have to wait 2 weeks before sitting for the exam again.



Q: I have taken the LPPE on numerous occasion and keep failing. I have financial hardships and not
working adds to my growing debt. Can I take the test without the required waiting period?

A. No. The responsibility of passing the LPPE rests solely with the applicant, and therefore, does not place
any burden upon the Board. While the study guide is available for applicants to review, you may also review
the Chiropractic Initiative Act, Chiropractic Laws and Regulations and visit www.leginfo.cagov
Applicants qualified to take the exam may only sit for the exam once in a 24 hour period.

Applicants who fail after 3 times will have to wait one week before sitting for the exam again.

Applicants who fail after 5 times will have to wait 2 weeks before sitting for the exam again.

Q: How long do I have to pass the LPPE?

A: Oneyear from the date of your original authorization letter. If you do not pass within this time, your file
will be sent for destruction and you will need to resubmit a new application along with the associated fees
and documents.

Q: If I have been convicted of afelony or misdemeanor, will this stop me from obtaining alicense?

A: This type of information will be reviewed on an individual basis. We ask that you submit your
application, fee and information regarding the occurrence. The Board will review your file and make a
decision at that time. Please keep in mind that we do take into consideration the type of conviction, the
age that you were when the incident occurred and the time that has elapsed since the conviction.

Q: Do I have to answer yes to acriminal history question if my case has been expunged or dismissed?
A:Yes. California Penal Code §1203.4(a) states that an applicant is not relieved from his or her obligation to
disclose a conviction in response to any direct question contained in any questionnaire or application for

licensure by any state orlocal agency.

Q: If I have a criminal history, what will I need to send to the Board?

A: Onceyour personal statement and any documents that you have submitted have been reviewed, you will
be notified of any further action. Please keep in mind that your personal statement must be in detail,
describing the events and circumstances leading up to your arrest or citation. If you were cited, a copy of
the citation/police report will be required. CERTIFIED court documents will also be required. Copies
from applicants will not be accepted. Proof of all court orders will also be needed. The Board will not
review your file until all requested documentation has been received.

Q: What am I allowed to do while waiting for my license?
A: For information relating to the scope of practice, refer to the California Code of Regulations $302
(Practice of Chiropractic)
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