Board of Chiropractic Examiners Continuing Education & Annual License Renewals California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Division 4, Articles 6 and 7.5

Article 6. Continuing Education

360. Continuing Education Fees.

The following represents fees for continuing education:

- (a) Continuing Education Provider Application Fee: \$75
- (b) Biennial Continuing Education Provider Renewal Fee: \$50
- (c) Continuing Education Course Application Fee: \$50 per course. A course is defined in Section 363.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-4(e), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii), Reference: Section 1000-4(b), 1000-10(a), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii).

361. Continuing Education Requirements.

(a) For purposes of this section, "implementation date" means two years following June 8, 2011.

(b) For license renewals that expire on or after June 8, 2013, the number of required hours of continuing education courses shall be twenty-four (24). For license renewals that expire prior to June 8, 2013, the number of required hours of continuing education courses shall be twelve (12).

(c) For license renewals that expire on or after June 8, 2013, a maximum of twelve (12) continuing education hours may be completed through distance learning as defined in Section 363.1. For license renewals that expire prior to June 8, 2013, a maximum of six (6) continuing education hours may be completed through distance learning as defined in Section 363.1.

(d) Any continuing education hours accumulated before June 8, 2011 that meet the requirements in effect on the date the hours were accumulated will be accepted by the board for license renewals.

(e) On or after June 8, 2013, licensees shall complete a minimum of two (2) hours in

subdivision (g)(11) - Ethics and Law, a minimum of four (4) hours in any one of, or a combination of, the subject areas specified in subdivision (g)(3) – History Taking and Physical Examination Procedures, subdivision (g)(5) – Chiropractic Adjustive Techniques or Chiropractic Manipulation Techniques, or subdivision (g)(10) – Proper and Ethical Billing and Coding.

(f) With the exception of the mandatory hours referenced in subdivision (e), the remaining eighteen (18) hours of additional continuing education requirements may be met by taking courses in any of the subject areas listed in subdivision (g) or courses taken pursuant to subdivision (h). The eighteen (18) hours may include any combination of continuing education courses in subject areas specified in either subdivision (g) or approved by agencies specified in subdivision (h). By way of example, a licensee may take eight (8) hours of continuing education courses in subject areas listed in subdivision (g), that are approved by the board, and ten (10) hours of continuing education courses that are approved by the California Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Workers Compensation pursuant to subparagraph (1) of subdivision (h).

(g) Courses approved by the board shall be limited to the following subject areas:

1. Philosophy of chiropractic, including the historical development of chiropractic as an art and science and health care approach; the vertebral subluxation complex and somato-visceral reflexes including their relationships between disease and health; and other chiropractic theory and philosophy.

2. Instruction in basic sciences of anatomy, histology, neurology, physiology, nutrition, pathology, biochemistry or toxicology.

3. Instruction in various basic to comprehensive history taking and physical examination procedures, including but not limited to orthopedic, neurological and general diagnosis related to evaluation of the neuro-musculoskeletal systems, and includes general diagnosis and differential diagnosis of all conditions that affect the human body.

4. Diagnostic testing procedures, interpretation and technologies that aid in differential diagnosis of all conditions that affect the human body.

5. Chiropractic adjustive techniques or chiropractic manipulation techniques.

6. Pain management theory, including, but not limited to, current trends in treatment and instruction in the physiology and anatomy of acute, sub-acute and chronic pain.

7. Physiotherapy.

8. Instruction in Manipulation Under Anesthesia including the safe handling of patients under anesthesia.

9. Instruction in the aspects of special population care, including, but not limited to, geriatric, pediatric, and athletic care as related to the practice of chiropractic.

10. Instruction in proper and ethical billing and coding, including accurate and effective record keeping and documentation of evaluation, treatment and progress of a patient. This is not to include practice building or patient recruitment/retention or business techniques or principles that teach concepts to increase patient visits or patient fees per case.

11. Ethics and law: including but not limited to: truth in advertising; professional boundaries; mandatory reporting requirements for child abuse/neglect, elder abuse/neglect; spousal or cohabitant abuse/neglect; sexual boundaries between patient and doctors; review of the specific laws, rules and regulations related to the practice of chiropractic in the State of California.

12. Adverse event avoidance, including reduction of potential malpractice issues.

13. Pharmacology, including side effects, drug interactions and the pharmodynamics of various commonly prescribed and over-the-counter drugs; drug reactions and interactions with herbs, vitamins and nutritional supplements; blood and urinalysis testing used in the diagnosis and detection of disease, including use of and interpretation of drug testing strips or kits utilizing urinalysis, saliva, hair and nail clippings.

14. A licensee may earn up to a maximum of two (2) hours of continuing education credit in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, basic life support or use of an automated external defibrillator.

15. Board Meeting: A licensee may earn a maximum of four (4) hours of continuing education credit per renewal period for attending a full board meeting that includes the hearing of cases related to petitioners seeking the reinstatement of revoked licenses or early termination of probationary licenses. A petitioner may not earn any continuing education hours for attending a board meeting on the same day in which said petitioner's hearing is conducted. The attendance of a licensee at a board meeting under this subparagraph shall be monitored and confirmed by board staff designated by the Executive Officer.

16. Any of the following as related to the practice of chiropractic:

- A) Principles of practice.
- B) Wellness. (prevention, health maintenance)
- C) Rehabilitation.

D) Public health.

(h) With the exception of the mandatory courses specified in subdivision (e), the remaining continuing education requirements may be met by taking continuing education courses, including distance learning, that are approved by either of the following:

1) The California Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Workers Compensation.

2) Any Healing Arts Board or Bureau within Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code or approved by any organization authorized to approve continuing education by any Healing Arts Board or Bureau in Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code.
(i) The continuing education providers and courses referenced in subdivision (h) do not need to be approved by the Board for credit to be granted nor do they need to meet the requirements contained in Sections 362, 363, and 363.1.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-4(e), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii). Reference: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-10(a), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii).

362. Continuing Education Provider Approval, Duties, and Responsibilities.

(a) CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER DENIAL AND APPEAL PROCESS: If an application is denied under this section, the applicant shall be notified in writing of the reason(s) for the denial. The applicant may request an informal hearing with the Executive Officer regarding the reasons stated in the denial notification. The appeal must be filed within 30 days of the date of the denial notification.

The Executive Officer shall schedule the informal hearing within 30 days of receipt of the appeal request. Within 10 days following the informal hearing, the Executive Officer shall provide written notification of his or her decision to the denied applicant. If the Executive Officer upholds a denial under this section, the applicant may, within 30 days of the date of the Executive Officer's denial notification, request a hearing before the board to appeal the denial. The Executive Officer shall schedule the requested hearing at a future board meeting but not later than 180 days following receipt of the request. Within 10 days of the hearing before the board, the Executive Officer shall provide written notification of the board's decision to the applicant. The board's decision shall be the final order in the matter.

(b) As used in this section, a provider is an individual, partnership, corporation, professional association, college or any other entity approved by the board to offer board approved continuing education courses to licensees to meet the annual continuing education requirements set forth in Section 361 of these regulations.

(c)(1) To apply to become an approved provider, an applicant shall complete and submit a "Continuing Education Provider Application" form (Revision date 02/10) which is hereby incorporated by reference, and pay the fee specified in Section 360(a). Applications for approval shall be submitted to the board office at least 30 days prior to a scheduled board meeting. Providers with applications that are incomplete will be notified of the deficiencies in writing within three (3) weeks from the date of receipt. Complete applications will be reviewed at the scheduled board meeting and notification of the board's decision will be provided in writing within two (2) weeks following the board meeting.

(2) The approval of the provider shall expire two (2) years after it is issued by the board and may be renewed upon the filing of the "Continuing Education Provider Application" form (Revision date 02/10) and fee specified in Section 360(b).

(3) Providers who were approved by the board prior to June 8, 2011 of this regulation shall renew their provider status two years from June 8, 2011 by filing of the "Continuing Education Provider Application" form (Revision date 02/10) and fee specified in Section 360(b).

(4) The board will not process incomplete applications nor applications that do not include the correct application fee.

(d) Providers shall:

(1) Identify an individual responsible for overseeing all continuing education activities of the provider.

(2) Provide a course roster to the board, within 30 days, upon written request. Course rosters shall include the names of all licensees, license numbers, and e-mail addresses if available. Failure to submit the roster upon written request within thirty (30) days may result in the withdrawal or denial of previous course approval and withdrawal of provider status. Providers shall maintain the course roster for four (4) years from the date of completion of the course.

(3) Maintain course instructor curriculum vitae or resumes for four (4) years.

(4) Disclose to prospective participants the names of the individuals or organizations, if any, who have underwritten or subsidized the course. Providers may not advertise, market, or display materials or items for sale inside the room while the actual instruction is taking place. Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to prohibit a provider from mentioning a specific product or service solely for educational purposes.

(5) Inform the board in writing immediately of any change to the date, time or location of the course.

(6) Provide a certificate of completion to licensees within 30 days following completion of the continuing education course. Providers shall retain records of course completion for four (4) years from the date of completion and provide records of completion to the Board within thirty (30) days, upon written request. The certificate shall include the following information:

- (A) Name and address of provider.
- (B) Course title.
- (C) Course approval number.
- (D) Date(s) and location of course.
- (E) Licensee name.
- (F) License number.

(G) Printed name and signature of the provider's designated representative.

(H) Number of hours the licensee earned in continuing education, including the type of mandatory hours, and whether the hours were obtained in classroom instruction or distance learning.

(e) The Executive Officer, after notification, may withdraw approval of any continuing education provider for good cause, including, but not limited to, violations of any provision of the regulation or falsification of information, and shall provide written notification of such action to the provider. The provider may request an informal hearing with the Executive Officer regarding the reasons for withdrawal of approval stated in the Executive Officer's notification. The appeal must be filed within 30 days of the date of the notification. The Executive Officer shall schedule the informal hearing within 30 days of receipt of the appeal request. Within 10 days following the informal hearing, the Executive Officer shall provide written notification of his or her decision to the provider. If the Executive Officer upholds his or her decision under this subsection, the provider may, within 30 days of the date of the Executive Officer's notification, request a hearing before the board to appeal the Executive Officer's decision. The Executive Officer shall schedule the requested hearing at a future board meeting but not later than 180 days following receipt of the request. Within 10 days of the hearing before the board, the Executive Officer shall provide written notification of the board's decision to the provider. The board's decision shall be the final order in the matter.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-4(e), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii). Reference: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-10(a), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii).

363. Approval of Continuing Education Courses.

(a) Providers must complete and submit a "Continuing Education Course Application" form (Revision date 02/10) which is hereby incorporated by reference, and pay the non-refundable application fee as provided by Section 360(c) at least 45 days prior to the date of the course. Providers shall submit and complete one application for each continuing education course being offered.

(b) A "course" is defined as an approved program of coordinated instruction in any one of the subject areas as defined in Section 361(g) and given by an approved Provider. Once approved, a course may be given any number of times for one year following approval, with the single continuing education course fee paid one time annually by the provider. A course may not consist of more than one subject area as defined in Section 361(g).

(c) The following documentation shall be submitted with each Continuing Education Course Application:

(1) An hourly breakdown of the continuing education course;

(2) A final copy of the syllabus/course schedule including seminar name, date and location of seminar, instructor(s) name, course description, educational objectives, teaching methods, course schedule/outline, recommended reading, disclosure of expenses underwritten or subsidized by vendors of any goods, and supplies or services;

(3) A copy of the course brochure and all other promotional material to be used;

(4) A curriculum vitae for each instructor including the instructor's name and address; the type of educational degree including the name of the college and year the degree was received; license information including status and name of licensing agency; certification including status and name of certifying agency; the type, location and years of practical experience; the type, location and years of teaching experience; the type, location and years of other relevant experience; and the title, journal, and date of publications.

(d) DENIAL AND APPEAL PROCESS: If a course application is denied under this section, the applicant shall be notified in writing of the reason(s) for the denial. The applicant may request an informal hearing regarding the reasons stated in their denial notification, with the Executive Officer. The appeal must be filed within 30 days of the date of the denial notification.

The Executive Officer shall schedule the informal hearing within 30 days of receipt of the appeal request. Within 10 days following the informal hearing, the Executive Officer shall provide written notification of his or her decision to the denied applicant. If the

Executive Officer upholds a denial under this section, the applicant may, within 30 days of the date of the Executive Officer's denial notification, request a hearing before the board to appeal the denial. The Executive Officer shall schedule the requested hearing at a future board meeting but not later than 180 days following receipt of the request.

Within 10 days of the hearing before the board, the Executive Officer shall provide written notification of the board's decision to the applicant. The board's decision shall be the final order in the matter.

(e) Only those courses that meet the following shall be approved:

(1) No more than twelve (12) hours of continuing education credit shall be awarded to an individual licensee for coursework completed on a specific date.

(2) Each hour of continuing education credit shall be based on at least fifty (50) minutes of participation in an organized learning experience. Class breaks shall be at the discretion of the instructor and shall not count towards a course hour. Providers shall furnish a sign-in sheet that contains the course date(s), each licensee's name, license number, and designated space for each licensee to sign in at the beginning and conclusion of the course each day. Furthermore, the form shall state that a licensee by signing their name on that sheet, is declaring under penalty of perjury, that they personally attended the stated course, on the listed date(s) and they personally attended the stated course work. Each licensee shall be responsible for signing the "sign-in sheet" at the start and conclusion of each day's coursework, and failure to do so may invalidate credit for that day's coursework. Providers shall retain sign-in sheets for four (4) years from the date of course completion and shall provide copies to the Board within thirty (30) days upon written request.

(f) The board shall not approve the following subjects for continuing education courses: financial management, income generation, practice building, collections, self-motivation, and patient recruitment.

(g) If a provider makes a substantive change in content of an approved course, he or she shall notify the board as soon as possible of the changes prior to giving the course. A new application may be required as determined by the Executive Officer.

(h) The Executive Officer, after notification, may withdraw approval of any continuing education course for good cause, including, but not limited to, violations of any provision of this regulation or falsification of information and shall provide written notification of such action to the provider. The provider may request an informal hearing with the Executive Officer regarding the reasons for withdrawal of approval stated in the Executive Officer's notification. The appeal must be filed within 30 days of the date of the notification. The Executive Officer shall schedule the informal hearing within 30 days of receipt of the appeal request. Within 10 days following the informal hearing, the Executive Officer shall provide written notification of his or her decision to the provider. If the Executive Officer upholds his or her decision under this subsection, the provider

may, within 30 days of the date of the Executive Officer's notification, request a hearing before the board to appeal the Executive Officer's decision. The Executive Officer shall schedule the requested hearing at a future board meeting but not later than 180 days following receipt of the request. Within 10 days of the hearing before the board, the Executive Officer shall provide written notification of the board's decision to the provider. The board's decision shall be the final order in the matter.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1000-4(b), and 1000-4(e), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii). Reference: Sections 1000-4(b), and 1000-10(a), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii).

363.1 Distance Learning Courses

In addition to the applicable requirements of Sections 362 and 363, providers of continuing education courses offered through distance learning formats, including, but not limited to, computer, Internet, manuals, compact disks, digital video, versatile discs, and audio and video tapes, shall meet all of the following:

(a) Disclose course instructors' curriculum vitae or resumes.

(b) Explain the appropriate level of technology required for a student licensee to successfully participate in the course.

(c) Make available technical assistance as appropriate to the format.

(d) Contain security measures to protect the learner's identity, course and related content from unauthorized access.

(e) Establish a deadline for completion.

(f) Review instructional materials annually to ensure the content is current and relevant.

(g) The continuing education provider shall notify the licensee when he or she is leaving a continuing education site and directed to a promotional or sponsored site. Course material may not endorse manufacturers, distributors, or other sellers of chiropractic products or services. Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to prohibit a provider from mentioning a specific product or service solely for educational purposes.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-4(e), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii). Reference: Section 1000-4(b) and 1000-10(a), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii).

364. Exemptions and Reduction of Requirement.

A licensee may qualify for a full or partial exemption, from the continuing education requirements of Section 361 if a licensee meets any of the criterion listed below:

(a) A licensee who holds a license on inactive status is not required to complete continuing education on an annual basis; however, they must provide proof of completion of the required continuing education hours prior to activating their license as specified in Section 371(f);

(b) A new licensee is exempt from continuing education requirements in the year of initial licensure;

(c) An instructor who has taught for one (1) year and currently teaches core curriculum courses for more than eight (8) credit hours per week at any Council on Chiropractic Education accredited college for at least six (6) months during any license renewal period year shall be exempt from continuing education.

(d) A licensee who teaches a board-approved continuing education course may earn one (1) hour of continuing education credit for each hour of lecture up to 24 hours per year.

(e) Notwithstanding Section 361(c), a licensee who is unable to attend continuing education courses due to a physical disability and provides written certification from a primary health care provider may earn all 24 hours of continuing education credits for the period of the license renewal through Board-approved distance learning courses as defined in Section 363.1.

(f) A licensee who participates as an examiner for the entire part four portion of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) examinations shall receive a maximum of six (6) hours of continuing education credit for each examination period conducted by the NBCE during the license renewal period. The licensee must provide written certification from the NBCE confirming the licensee has met the requirements of this subsection.

(g) An active Board Members. A professional board member who has served one full year on the Board of Chiropractic Examiners shall be exempt from the continuing education requirement in each year of board member service.

(h) Notwithstanding Section 361(c), a licensee on active duty with a branch of the armed forces of the United States shall be permitted to take all twenty-four (24) hours of required continuing education through board-approved distance learning courses as defined in Section 363.1.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1000-4(b), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii).

Reference: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-4(e), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii).

365. Revoked Licenses.

Any person making application for reinstatement or restoration of a license which has been revoked shall be required to fulfill the continuing education requirements for each year the license was revoked and may be required to complete an approved course of continuing education, or to complete such study or training as the board deems appropriate.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 1000-4(b), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii). Reference: Sections 1000-4(b), 1000-4(e) and 1000-10, Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California Stats. 1923 p. 1xxxviii).

366. Continuing Education Audits.

The Board shall conduct random audits to verify compliance with Continuing Education requirements of active licensees. Licensees shall secure and retain certificates of completion issued to them at the time of attendance of approved Continuing Education courses for a period of four (4) years from their last renewal and shall forward these documents to the Board upon request.

Licensees who fail to retain certificates of completion shall obtain duplicate certificates, from approved Continuing Education providers, who shall issue duplicates only to licensees whose names appear on the providers' rosters of course attendees. The certificates of completion shall be clearly marked "duplicate" and shall contain the information specified in Section 362(d)(6.

Licensees who furnish false or misleading information to the Board regarding their Continuing Education hours shall be subject to disciplinary action. Providers who provide false or inaccurate verification of a licensee's participation may lose their provider status for up to ten (10) years, at the discretion of the Executive Officer. The full board's ruling, as described in Section 362(e), shall be the final order on the matter.

The board or its designee shall not be restricted from inspecting, observing, or auditing any approved chiropractic course in progress, at no charge.

The board, at its discretion, may contact attendees after a continuing education course as part of the board's auditing process to obtain information regarding the quality and content of the course.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 1000-4(b), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii).

Reference: Sections 1000-4(b), 1000-4(e) and 1000-10, Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. <u>1</u>xxxviii).

Article 7.5. License Renewal Requirements

370. License Renewal Fees.

The following represents fees for license renewals:

(a) Annual license renewal for active and inactive licenses: \$250

(b) License restoration for forfeited and cancelled licenses: double the annual renewal fee

(c) Inactive to active status license renewal: same as the annual license renewal fee

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-10, Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii). Reference: Sections 1000-4(b), 1000-10 and 1000-12, Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii).

371. Annual License Renewals and Restoration.

(a) This section shall apply to non-disciplinary license renewal and restoration. Disciplinary license restoration conditions are defined in Section 1000-10 of the Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923 p.1xxxviii).

(b) A license shall expire annually on the last day of the licensee's birth month. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the following meanings:

(1) "License in forfeiture" is a license that has not been renewed within 60 days following its expiration date.

(2) "Inactive license" has the meaning specified in Business and Professions Code 700.

(3) "Cancelled license" is a license that has been expired for a period of three (3) consecutive years.

(c) To renew an active license, a licensee shall complete and submit a "Renewal" form (R1HDC, Rev. June 8, 2011), which is incorporated by reference, pay the appropriate fee specified in Section 370(a) prior to the expiration date of the license, and complete

the board's continuing education requirements that were in effect during the license renewal period.

(d) To renew an inactive license, a licensee shall complete and submit a "Renewal" form (R1HDC, Rev. June 8, 2011) and pay the appropriate fee specified in Section 370(a) prior to the expiration date of the license.

(e) To renew and restore a license in forfeiture, a licensee shall complete and submit a "Forfeiture Notice" form (D1HDC, Rev. June 8, 2011) and an "Application for Restoration of License" form (Revision date 04/11), which are incorporated by reference, pay the appropriate fees specified in Section 370(b) and have met one of the following continuing education requirements:

(1) Completed the board's continuing education requirements that were in effect at the time of each license renewal period;

(2) Practiced in another state under an active valid license and completed all continuing education requirements for that state for each license renewal period the license was expired;

(3) Passed the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractic examination within six (6) months prior to submitting the Application for Restoration of License.

(f) To restore an inactive license to active status, a licensee shall complete and submit an "Inactive to Active Status Application" form (Revision date 02/10), which is incorporated by reference, pay the appropriate fee specified in Section 370(c) prior to the expiration date of the license, and complete continuing education equivalent to that required for a single license renewal period.

(g) To restore a cancelled license, a licensee shall complete and submit an "Application for Restoration of License" form (Revision date 04/11), pay the appropriate fee specified in Section 370(b), and have met one of the following continuing education requirements: (1) Completed the board's continuing education requirements that were in effect at the time of each license renewal period;

(2) Practiced in another state under an active valid license and completed all continuing education requirements for that state for each license renewal period the license was expired;

(3) Passed the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractic examination within six (6) months prior to submitting the Application for Restoration of License.

(h) The board will not process incomplete applications nor complete applications that do not include the correct fee as specified in Section 370.

(i) In addition to any other requirement for renewal or restoration of a license, a licensee shall disclose whether, since the last renewal of his or her license, he or she has been convicted of any violation of the law in this or any other state, the United States, or other country. However, licensees are not required to disclose traffic infractions that resulted in fines of less than five hundred dollars (\$500) that did not involve alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-10(a), Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii). Reference: Sections 1000-4(b), 1000-10 and 1000-12, Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii) and Penal Code Sections 11105 and 11105.2.

372. Continued Jurisdiction of a License.

The suspension, expiration, or forfeiture by operation of law of a license issued by the board, or its suspension, or forfeiture, by order of the board or by order of a court of law, or its surrender without the written consent of the board shall not, during any period in which it may be renewed, restored, reissued, or reinstated, deprive the board of its authority to institute or continue a disciplinary proceeding against the licensee upon any ground provided by law or to enter an order suspending or revoking the license or otherwise taking disciplinary action against the licensee on any such ground.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-10, Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii). Reference: Sections 1000-4(b) and 1000-10, Business and Professions Code (Chiropractic Initiative Act of California, Stats. 1923, p. 1xxxviii).